young adult

young adult

To contact the kiBooka creators or to order their books, please click through to their websites.

“…the vibrant debut novel…employs the Korean genre’s conventions for an utterly original take on the young-adult fantasy.” (Entertainment Weekly)

“Choi’s journey into the world of a young immigrant girl caught between her family’s Korean values and breaking free to live her Canadian dream adds a colourful tile to our nation’s literary mosaic.” (The Ottawa Review of Books)

“Maurene Goo…has built a following with her breezy, pop-culture-savvy romantic comedies, all featuring Korean-American teenage girls as her protagonists.” (The New York Times)

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

“Beyond the rigorously researched, culturally specific narrative details, The Silence of Bones is an exhilarating thriller, pitting the powerful against the power-hungry, endowing the powerless with affecting agency.” (Shelf Awareness)

“Filled with a sweet new romance and starring a heroine to root for. Lee finds a spot alongside Jenny Han and Stacey Lee in representing the diversity of Asian American experiences. A joyful protagonist who speaks to Generation Z.” (School Library Journal, starred review)

“Allows readers first to flinch in recognition and then to look into their own hearts.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review)

Michael L. Printz Award, 
National Book Award Finalist, International Book Award, 
New York Times Notable

“Equal parts Kdrama (Korean drama) and sci-fi blockbuster, Oh blends futuristic tech, authentic Korean culture, and romance in this complex, utterly engrossing, and wholly fresh story that is sure to entice a wide array of readers.” (Booklist, starred review)

“Debut author Park’s well-written title slyly infuses what seems like a typical teen romantic comedy with thoughtful treatment of diversity, micro-aggressions, classism and class struggles, immigration, and privilege while capturing the sweetness of two nerds falling for each other… A charming, thoughtful portrayal of complex teen relationships.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Rousing and truthful…Rich is real with readers in a way that’s refreshing…A smart tool to fight inequity.” (Booklist) … “An inspiring and practical handbook for meaningful resistance…Girls Resist! walks teens through the nitty-gritty of running a campaign, protesting a policy, or helping to get out the vote.” (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

KaeLyn Rich
KaeLyn Rich

nonfiction

author

A romantic comedy about a Korean-American teen who sells Korean beauty products out of her locker and manages the school’s most successful student enterprise, until the hot new boy gives her a run for her money—leading her to surprising discoveries about first love, family, and herself.

2019 New England Book Award Finalist; 2020 ALA Rainbow Book List Title; Summer 2019 Indies Next Pick; Summer/Fall 2019 Indies Introduce Title

Rebecca Kim Wells

author

A groundbreaking portrait of Vincent Chin and the murder case that took America’s Asian American community to the streets in protest of injustice.

Paula Yoo

photo by Sonya Sones

nonfiction

author

“Admirably, Yoon explores themes of racism, forgiveness and acceptance without getting earnest or preachy or letting anyone off the hook. And there’s a universality to the story that cuts across cultures.” (New York Times)

“A beautifully written epic replete with magic, shapeshifting characters, complex political intrigue and the obligatory battles between good and evil … Strong female characters and a helter-skelter plot make for a compelling read.” (The Guardian, Books of the Months Pick)

Mimi Yu
Mimi Yu

author